Historical Society

The North East Historical Society, Inc. (NEHS) is a 501(c)(3) non-profit membership organization that seeks to promote a better understanding and greater appreciation of the history of Town of North East and the Village of Millerton and to partner with others to do so.


The NEHS archives is located on the second floor of the NorthEast-Millerton Library at 75 Main Street; Millerton, NY 12546. Access to the archives is by appointment.

Contact Us:

North East Historical Society, Inc.
PO Box 727
Millerton, New York 12546


About NEHS:

NEHS was founded on October 26, 1971 and incorporated on August 5, 1974. The founding directors were Lena C. Bowolick, Louise R. Orton, Marian S. Smith and Jessie V. Sprague.

Current Board of Directors:

Edward Downey (President), Edith Greenwood (Vice-President), Margaretta Downey (Secretary), John Hicks (Treasurer), Laura Conklin, David Sherman, Marian Smith, Elizabeth Strauss and Jane Rossman.